Department of Financial Economics: Seminars Fall 2002
Day Date Hour Speaker Affiliation Title
Thu Sep 5 10:00 Ron Anderson LSE  A Model of Liquid Asset Holdings by Firms
Wed Sep 11 10:00 Guojun Wu U. Michigan Buss. Sch.   Stock Market Manipulation: Theory and Evidence
Wed Sep 18 10:00 Michael Brennan Anderson School, UCLA  A Simple Model of Intertemporal Capital Asset Pricing and Its Implications for the FamaFrench Three Factor Model
Wed Sep 25 10:00 Maria Vassalou Columbia Bus. Sch.  Default Risk in Equity Returns
Wed Oct 2 10:00 Alexander Ljungqvist Stern Sch., NYU  Conflicts of Interest and Efficient Contracting in IPOs
Wed Oct 9 10:00 Rangarajan Sundaram Stern Sch,. NYU  How Much Does Strategic Debt Service Matter?
Wed Oct 16 10:00 Suresh Sundaresan Columbia Bus. Sch.  The Impact of Collateral on Swap Rates 
Wed  Oct 23 10:00 No seminar  
Wed Oct 30 10:00 Richard Priestley  BI Keeping-up, not catching-up, with the Joneses: An international asset pricing model
Wed Nov 6 10:00

Mariassunta Giannetti

Stockholm School of Economics

Which Investors Fear Expropriation? Evidence from Investors' Stock Picking

Wed  Nov 13 10:00 Richard Sweeney McDonough Sch. of Buss., Georgetown U.

Fed Intervention, Dollar Appreciation, and

Systematic Risk

(Joint with Dept. Economics)

Fri Nov 22  10:00 Elena Carletti U. Mannheim

Bank mergers, competition and liquidity

Wed Nov 27 10:00

Jesper Rangvid

Copenhagen Buss. Sch. 

Output and Expected Returns - a Multicountry Study

 (Joint with Dept. Economics)

Wed Dec 4 10:00 Bruce Johnsen George Mason University 

Does Soft Dollar Brokerage Benefit Institutional Investors: Agency Problem or Solution?

Wed Dec 11 10:00 No seminar